Reflection – endings and to new beginnings!

Friends 1994-2004, WarnerBros.
Friends 1994-2004, WarnerBros.

So like all good things, they must come to an end – ah I sound so cliché right now! Oh well you know it’s true!

Now here we are at the end of our first assignment for BCM 110, and I’d be a liar if I said I didn’t learn anything over the last few weeks. Reflecting over the lectures – the veil; the pink shades diluting my view of the media have been taken off; and I’m sure it’s the same for the rest of you as well.

Every lecture has been very insightful and interesting, learning about companies like Fair Fax and Ruper Murdoch, and how much they own of the media. To understand that the voice of the media has so much power, and how what we may read in the newspaper or what we may see on the news – telivision, might just be only half of the truth; fragmented. To be able to understand semiotics, actually understand the meaning of a picture – knowing that from now on as a BCM student, everytime I see an advertisment in a magazine or an ad on television I won’t be able to help but look for the conotations and signifiers! What have you done to me!

Writing this blog has been really awesome, and it has been great – being able to give insight into my understandings and my point of view on what we have learnt about of the media.

Last of all I would like to say, when you think about it our blogs have been a bit like a media sphere – where we have all come together, written and expressed our opinions about the issues of media. We are the virtual version of a coffee house, as Jurgen Habermas might say!

Friends 1994-2004, WarnerBros.
Friends 1994-2004, WarnerBros.

Finally it has been fun to read and comment on some really awesome posts and to make new firiends, thank you! Over and out!!

Leave a Reply

